Short answer: $137,000–$146,000 in year one, and a 22–35 asset-a-month bar
A social media manager in Los Angeles costs roughly $137,000 to $146,000 in year one, fully loaded — base salary plus benefits, payroll tax, software, camera equipment and recruiting. Year two, without the one-time costs, runs about $129,000 to $138,000.
Converted to output, that hire has to sustain 22 to 35 usable assets a month to match what we charge per asset, depending on asset mix. If you only charge the production share of their time against production, the bar drops to roughly 13 to 21. Which number is right for you depends on how much you value the other four jobs the role contains.
Answer in one minute
QuestionAnswerBasisWhat does an LA social media manager cost, all in?$137,000–$146,000 year one; $129,000–$138,000 steady stateRobert Half LA "Mid" × BLS loading, plus tools, kit and recruitingWhat is the base salary?$103,163 — Robert Half's LA "Mid" tier, a starting-salary figure, not a market medianRobert Half 2026 guide (a staffing firm — see limitations)Does government data agree?Only partly, and not in our favour. LA metro medians for the three nearest occupations are $79,860–$83,210 — below the figure we anchor on, which is a starting-salary numberBLS OEWS, Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, May 2025 — PR specialists, market research analysts, film and video editorsWhat is the right loading multiplier?1.225–1.284 on a quoted annual salary — not 1.46BLS ECEC 2026 Q1, corrected for paid leaveHow many assets a month is breakeven?33–35 in year one and 31–33 at steady state at our $350 floor; 23–25 and 22–23 at a $500 averageOur published rates against the loaded monthly costDo we produce that much for one brand?No — we produce 15 videos a month for a single brand. That is below every breakeven figure aboveDream Aspect delivery recordHow long to hire?A median of 44 days, requisition open to offer acceptedSHRM 2025, n=2,371 US membersWhen should you hire instead?Real-time community management, founder voice, pre-PMF iteration, high-volume low-fidelity outputOur position, argued below
How we evaluated the evidence
Two of the numbers on this page decide everything else: the base salary, and the multiplier that loads it. We built them from the primary data, and they are set out in full below, because the arithmetic is the argument.
Every figure here is observational — published prices, survey medians, government wage series. Nothing on this page is the output of a controlled test, and no experimental evidence exists for the central question.
What we used, and what we left out.
TierUsed hereExcluded, and whyGovernment primaryBLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation (2026 Q1); BLS OEWS LA metro wages (May 2025); BLS Handbook of Methods definitions—Method-disclosed surveySHRM 2025 recruiting benchmarks (n=2,371); Metricool well-being survey (n=927)Surveys that publish a percentage with no sample size or field periodFirst-party publishedOur own homepage and /ugc rates—Vendor / commercially interestedRobert Half salary guide; Hootsuite and Sprout list prices; eight commercially interested in-house-vs-agency comparisons, plus one non-commercial blog used only for what it does and does not printAny figure from these used as sole support for a load-bearing number. See the salary row
SourceDatasetFindingLimitationBLS, Employer Costs for Employee CompensationPrivate industry, management/professional/related occupations, national, 2026 Q1; retrieved via the BLS public API 2026-08-21Total compensation $78.10/hour worked; wages and salaries $53.50; benefits $24.61, of which paid leave $7.34 (vacation $3.75, holiday $2.10, sick $1.01, other $0.48) and supplemental pay $3.60National, not California. Occupational group, not this job title. State payroll costs are not separately modelled, so the loading is a floor for an LA hireBLS, Handbook of Methods — NCS conceptsDefinitional; the live page returns 403 to automated retrieval, so this is the Internet Archive capture of 2026-08-19Paid leave is a benefit category, not part of wages; "cost per hour worked" divides by hours worked, excluding leave hours. Time-based pay includes "an annual salary"Archive capture, not a direct read. The definitions are stable across captures but we flag the retrieval route rather than imply a live fetchBLS, OEWS Los Angeles-Long Beach-AnaheimLA metro, May 2025 estimates, retrieved 2026-08-21. SOC 27-3031 public relations specialists, 13-1161 market research analysts and marketing specialists, 27-4032 film and video editorsAnnual medians $79,860 / $82,990 / $83,210; 75th percentiles $105,980 / $120,960 / $130,110There is no SOC code for "social media manager." These are the three nearest occupations, not the role. May 2025, so roughly a year behind the salary guideRobert Half 2026 Salary Guide, Los AngelesOne metro, one job title, 2026; retrieved 2026-08-21Low $81,875 · Mid $103,163 · High $125,105 — Robert Half's own experience-based tiers, and starting-salary projections, not percentilesA staffing firm that sells placements and benefits from higher quoted salaries — Robert Half states the basis itself in its Form 10-K: "Fees for successful placements are paid only by the employer and are generally a percentage of the new employee's annual compensation." The specific percentage is not in the filing and the figures in circulation are third-party reporting. The direction is the same as ours. Never used alone here: it is cross-checked against the BLS metro data above, and it survives that checkSHRM, 2025 Recruiting Benchmarkingn=2,371, described by SHRM as a "random sample of active SHRM members," fielded 9 Jan–3 Mar 2025; mediansCost-per-hire, non-executive: $1,200. Time-to-fill, non-executive: 44 days, which SHRM calls "about a month and a half" — requisition open to offer accepted, calendar daysA membership frame, not a labour-market sample, and deliberately oversampling VP-and-above. Unweighted; sample size varies by metric. Time-to-fill stops at offer accepted — notice periods and onboarding are on top. And it is not disinterested: SHRM sells memberships, HR certifications, training and conferences, and gates its benchmarking reports behind membership, so a long, costly hiring process is the problem its products address. A 2026 edition of this benchmarking series exists and we have not been able to read its non-executive figure — the full data brief is membership-gated — so treat the 44 days as the 2025 reading rather than the current one. That is the same direction as our argumentMetricool well-being report 2026n=927 social media professionals globally, fielded 19–26 Jan 2026, released 3 Mar 202675% say they are expected to manage too many responsibilities at once — "strategy, content creation, analytics, community management and stakeholder communication"Global, not US. Metricool sells social media management software, so a narrative of overloaded in-house teams suits it. Self-selected respondentsHootsuite plans · Sprout Social pricingPublished list prices, retrieved 2026-08-21Hootsuite Standard $99 per user/month on annual billing; Sprout Professional $299 per seat/month, the page's annual-commitment rate — the page now shows an annual/monthly split (Essentials $79 annual against $99 monthly)List prices, not what anyone pays after negotiation. Only these two components of the software line could be re-verified. The $1,200–$1,824 creative-software residual (Adobe CC, Adobe Stock, Frame.io) is carried from a 2026-08-20 capture — adobe.com was unreachable on re-check, and Frame.io is an Adobe product whose Pro tier bundles into some Creative Cloud plans, so the high end may double-countB&H Photo (camera kit) · RØDEThree product prices captured 2026-08-20FX3A body $4,298 + FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM II $2,448 + Wireless PRO $260 = $7,006Could not be re-verified: bhphotovideo.com returns HTTP 403 to automated retrieval. The RØDE figure is a street price below the manufacturer's $299 list, so the line is conservative by about $39Compelite Pro · Ignite Social Media and seven othersNine published comparisons, each re-fetched 2026-08-21 — Stackmatix by ordinary HTTP request, because it returns 403 to an automated agent and 200 to a browserSee the opening section. Of the eight that sell something, one — Apaya — answers what it charges inside the comparison article itself. Three publish prices somewhere on their own sites (Apaya, Later, Contentoo); five publish none we could find, Stackmatix includedMixed, and we checked each one's own home page rather than inferring from the article it wrote (2026-08-21). Six sell services — Compelite Pro (a Bristol social media agency), Ignite Social Media, Green Frog Labs (short-form video agency), Stackmatix (growth-marketing agency), iStudios Media (digital marketing and production) and Contentoo, whose home page reads "Contentoo is a tech-enabled content agency" even though its comparison article calls it "a content operations platform." Two sell software — Apaya and Later, which also sells managed influencer programmes and so sits on both sides. One publishes no prices and sells no comparable service: SL Lives is a general-interest blog whose categories run Crypto, Fashion, Health, Pet and Travel, with no services page and no prices on its own site. It has no side to argue in this comparison, so it is excluded from the price-list count below — though "sells nothing at all" would be stronger than we can show, since we did not audit whether it takes paid placements. Used only for what they do and do not print, never as evidence about costsSocialinsider, 2026 benchmarks70M posts from a stated "representative sample of international brands," Jan 2024–Dec 2025; retrieved 2026-08-212025 average posts per month: Instagram 20, TikTok 15, Facebook 24Analytics SaaS. Counts posts, not distinct assets, so cross-platform reuse is invisible. The same page also says brands post "5 posts per week on Instagram and TikTok," which contradicts its own TikTok rowBuffer, posting frequency guideBuffer platform data; retrieved 2026-08-21Recommends 3–5 Instagram posts and 2–5 TikTok posts per weekScheduling software — it sells posting more. This is a recommendation, not an observed average. Buffer's "more than 100,000 users" sample is attached to a separate consistency finding, not to these numbersLink in Bio, 2025 Social Media Salary Report pt. 22,500 respondents, 390 cities, 40 countries; published 6 Nov 2025; retrieved 2026-08-2167.2% feel they are doing more than one job; a further 22.5% "sometimes" doNewsletter survey, self-selected, global. Field dates are not published — only the publication date. Respondents are described as those who provided salary data. Interest, disclosed: Link in Bio is a paid Substack written for social media managers by Rachel Karten, a Los Angeles social media consultant, and monetised by subscription — $8 a month, $80 a year, or a $150 company-paid tier. Its about page tells readers "this newsletter is an educational resource and can likely be expensed through your company" and offers a template for asking. Its audience is the overloaded in-house manager this finding describes.Hootsuite, 2023 Social Media Career Report3,842 respondents, spring 2023; geography not stated in the release. Live page returns 403 to automated retrieval — read via the Internet Archive capture of 2025-07-2366% report too many responsibilities; 51% lack time to do the job well; 67% work 40+ hours a weekThree years old and published by a scheduling vendor. Used only as a third differently-motivated sample pointing the same way, never for a specific figure in the cost builddreamaspect.co homepage · /ugcOur own published prices, retrieved 2026-08-21Video packages from $3,000 per shoot; UGC from $350 per video, minimum 5 per batch, usage rights typically 6 monthsBoth are floors, not rates. /ugc publishes two different production windows — see that section. We have published no monthly retainer price at all
Where this cuts against us, in one place. The corrected multiplier lowers the in-house number by $18,000 to $24,300. The equipment line is charged entirely to year one when a camera lasts three or more years; amortised over three, year one falls to about $132,000–$141,000. Our own monthly output for a single brand sits below the breakeven this article derives. And the salary that anchors everything comes from a staffing firm whose interest points the same way as ours.
Before the numbers, one thing about this comparison that should not be unusual and is.
We read nine published comparisons of in-house versus outsourced social and content work — Later, Stackmatix, Green Frog Labs, Compelite Pro, Apaya, Contentoo, iStudios, Ignite Social Media and SL Lives — and re-fetched all nine on 21 August 2026 to check a single thing. One of them needs a note. stackmatix.com returns HTTP 403 to an automated retrieval agent and HTTP 200 to an ordinary browser request — we checked both ways within seconds of each other, and read it the second way. Every price-list count below is out of eight.
Eight of the nine sell something. Inside the comparison article itself, one of those eight answers what it charges — Apaya, which sells software rather than services, and which answers "How much does Apaya cost?" on the same page: "$55 per month billed annually for Spark. Blaze is $103 per month and Supernova is $183 per month." Between them the rest print salary bands, market ranges and "typical" retainers by the dozen without printing their own.
That is the narrow version of the claim, and the narrow version is the only one we can defend. Checked against their own pricing pages on 21 August 2026, Later publishes a full three-tier list — Starter $25, Growth $50, Scale $110 per month, or "$18.75USD/month", "$37.50USD/month" and "$82.50USD/month" billed yearly — and Contentoo publishes a band: "Typical subscriptions range from €3,000 to €9,000 EUR/month." So the honest finding is about where the price sits, not whether it exists. Of the eight, three publish prices somewhere on their own sites and only one puts them in the piece that argues you should buy; the five service sellers — Compelite Pro, Ignite Social Media, Green Frog Labs, iStudios Media and Stackmatix — publish none anywhere we could find. Stackmatix is the clearest case: twenty-five service pages in its sitemap, from seo-agency to fractional-cmo, no pricing page, and /pricing returns 404.
The ninth is out of the count entirely. SL Lives is a general-interest blog — its categories run Crypto, Fashion, Health, Pet and Travel — with no services page and no prices published on its own site. It has no side to argue in this comparison. A publisher with no prices is not a publisher withholding prices.
The closest any of the service sellers gets is Compelite Pro, a Bristol social media agency, which costs out "a senior agency engagement at £3,000/month" without saying whether that is its own price. It also publishes a full loaded-cost build — but only for the in-house side, loading a £40,000 base with National Insurance, pension, tools, recruitment, training and holiday cover to reach £58,000–£65,000, against an agency side presented as flat and all-in with "no NI, no pension, no recruitment risk, no holiday gaps." It is not a concession. A one-sided loaded-cost build that lands on the seller's own conclusion runs with its commercial interest, exactly as ours does — which is the reason our own build below is the thing to check hardest, not the thing to trust. Ignite Social Media publishes exactly one dollar figure in the entire piece, and it is its own software bill: "We easily spend over $100,000 per year for these tools."
That is nine hand-picked articles, not a systematic review, and not all of them are agencies. We checked each publisher's own home page on 21 August 2026, because a publisher's description of itself inside a piece where it is ranking itself is not evidence of what it sells: six sell services — Compelite Pro, Ignite Social Media, Green Frog Labs, iStudios Media and Stackmatix, whose home page headline is "AI SEO & Ads Growth Marketing agency for Startups," plus Contentoo, whose home page says "Contentoo is a tech-enabled content agency that combines AI workflows with expert freelancers." Two sell software, Apaya and Later — though Later also sells managed influencer programmes, so it sits on both sides. One sells nothing, SL Lives. Seven of the nine sell an outsourced alternative to hiring. That was enough to decide how to write this one: our rates are below, in the same table as the salary maths, and every external figure is linked to its source with the date we retrieved it.
What does an in-house social media manager actually cost in Los Angeles, fully loaded?
Between $137,000 and $146,000 in year one, fully loaded, for a hire expected to shoot as well as post. Base salary is roughly three quarters of that. The rest is benefits, payroll tax, software, camera equipment and recruiting.
Several of the comparisons we read do build a loaded cost — Compelite Pro adds National Insurance, pension, tools, recruitment and holiday; Contentoo adds benefits, tools and management overhead. Stackmatix builds the closest analogue to ours — salary $75,000–$95,000, labelled at source "Salary (mid-market, SF/NYC)", benefits $15,000–$25,000, payroll taxes $8,000–$10,000, tools $3,000–$6,000, management overhead $5,000–$10,000, recruiting and onboarding $5,000–$15,000, "Total Year 1 $111,000–$161,000" — and it is a growth-marketing agency building only the in-house side, concluding "the honest answer at the Seed stage is almost always: agency." Our own build is not the distinctive thing here; that it is built in both directions is.
Two of them carry the camera kit, and both are the video sellers you would expect: Green Frog Labs lists "Equipment (camera, lighting, audio, software): $2,000-5,000 one-time, plus $200-500 per month in software subscriptions," and iStudios Media puts "Equipment & Software" at "$30k – $70k (Capex)" and says a professional setup "can easily require a $50,000+ upfront investment." Our $7,006 sits between the two, closer to Green Frog's end. The distinctive thing about this build is therefore not that it prices a camera — it is that it prices a specific, checkable camera against a linked retailer.
Line itemLowHighSourceBase salary, Social Media Manager, Los Angeles, 2026 — Robert Half "Mid" tier$103,163$103,163Robert HalfBenefits and payroll tax — ×1.225 to ×1.284+$23,163+$29,267BLS ECEC 2026 Q1Fully loaded pay$126,326$132,430Social management tool — Hootsuite Standard $99/user/mo, annual billing (low) → Sprout Professional $299/seat/mo, annual commitment (high), per year — one seat$1,188$3,588Re-verified 2026-08-21Creative software — Adobe Creative Cloud (low); + Adobe Stock and Frame.io (high), per year$1,200$1,824⚠️ Carried from a 2026-08-20 capture. adobe.com was unreachable on re-check 2026-08-21Camera kit: Sony FX3A body $4,298 + FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM II $2,448 + RODE Wireless PRO $260$7,006$7,006⚠️ B&H street prices, captured 2026-08-20; bhphotovideo.com returns 403 to re-checking. RØDE's own list price is $299, so this line is below listRecruiting, median non-executive$1,200$1,200SHRM 2025Year-one total$136,920$146,048Steady state, year two on$128,714$137,842Equipment and recruiting removed
Four notes, because these are the lines people leave out or get wrong.
The multiplier is 1.225–1.284, and the obvious way to calculate it is wrong. BLS publishes, for private-industry management and professional roles as of 2026 Q1, total compensation of $78.10 per hour worked against $53.50 in wages and salaries. Dividing those gives 1.46, which is the figure most loaded-cost calculators use.
It is wrong, because BLS counts paid leave — $7.34 an hour — as a benefit, not as wages, and it divides by hours worked, excluding leave hours. A quoted annual salary already pays for vacation, holidays and sick days. Loading it by 1.46 charges you for that leave twice.
The defensible range is $78.10 ÷ ($53.50 + $7.34) = 1.284, or 1.225 if you strip supplemental pay ($3.60 — overtime premium, shift differentials and nonproduction bonuses) out of the numerator, on the grounds that a salaried hire's bonus is not automatic. On a $103,163 salary the error is $18,000 to $24,300 depending which end of the corrected band you take — about $21,000 at the midpoint — and it runs in our favour.
The salary comes from a staffing firm, and the government cross-check does not fully endorse it. Robert Half sells placements and benefits from higher quoted salaries, which is the same commercial direction we point in. Its page publishes Low, Mid and High figures defined by candidate experience, and its own methodology calls them "starting salary projections" — "pay for someone new to a role." They are not percentiles, and they should not be read as a distribution.
BLS has no occupation code for "social media manager," so we pulled the three nearest ones for the Los Angeles metro from the May 2025 OEWS: public relations specialists, market research analysts and marketing specialists and film and video editors. LA annual medians are $79,860, $82,990 and $83,210; the 75th percentiles are $105,980, $120,960 and $130,110.
Read honestly, that is a caution rather than a confirmation. A starting-salary midpoint should normally sit below the incumbent median for related occupations, and $103,163 sits above all three of them. It stays inside the distribution — under every 75th percentile — so it is defensible for a role combining marketing judgement with camera work. But treat it as the top of a reasonable range, not a corroborated centre. Anchor on the BLS medians instead and you subtract roughly $25,000 to $30,000 from every loaded figure on this page; the argument below survives, and the breakeven falls with it.
Year one is inflated by one-time costs, and arguably by more than it should be. A camera body lasts longer than a year. Amortise the $7,006 kit over three years instead of expensing it, and year one becomes about $132,000–$141,000. We have shown the un-amortised version because that is the cash a finance director actually approves in year one — but the three-year number is the fairer comparison against a monthly invoice, and it is the smaller of the two.
Outside Los Angeles the shape holds and the scale drops. Robert Half's 2026 national Mid figure is $78,750, which loads to $96,000–$101,000 and lands near $107,000–$115,000 all in.
Why is the salary the smallest problem? One hire, five jobs
The salary is the smallest problem because you are hiring one person to do five jobs. The research on this is unusually consistent across three independent surveys, in three different years, with three different question wordings.
Metricool surveyed 927 social media professionals globally between 19 and 26 January 2026: 75% said they are expected to manage too many responsibilities at once — "strategy, content creation, analytics, community management and stakeholder communication."
Link in Bio, reporting 2,500 respondents across 390 cities and 40 countries and published on 6 November 2025, found 67.2% feel they are doing more than one job, with 22.5% more saying they sometimes do.
Hootsuite's 2023 report, from 3,842 respondents whose geography the release does not state, found 66% reporting too many responsibilities — and 51% saying they lack time to do the job well, despite 67% working 40+ hours a week.
Two caveats worth stating, and one worth stating twice. The two that report their geography are global rather than US-specific, and the third does not say. Two of the three publishers sell social media management software, so an overloaded-in-house-team narrative suits them — and it suits us as well, which is the more important disclosure. The consistency across differently-motivated samples is what makes it credible, not any single figure.
The overload is specific rather than general. The five functions require genuinely different skills — a strategist who can shoot is rare, and a shooter who edits at volume is rarer. That is a claim about labour markets, not about agencies, and it is the reason the hybrid at the end of this article is the most common landing place.
What is the breakeven number of assets a month for an in-house social hire?
Somewhere between 22 and 35 usable assets a month. That is the output an LA in-house hire must sustain to match our per-asset cost, and it is the number that should decide this, because it converts two otherwise incomparable things into one.
The range exists because our published $350 is a floor, not a flat rate. Our UGC page says "On average, pricing starts at $350 per video," and that it varies with creator type, scripting complexity and turnaround. The $500 in the table below is our estimate of a realistic blended average across a mixed batch, not a rate we publish anywhere.
Year one, $11,410–$12,171/moSteady state, $10,726–$11,487/moAt the $350 floor33–35 assets/month31–33 assets/monthAt $500 — our own estimate of a realistic blended average, not a published rate23–25 assets/month22–23 assets/month
So the honest bar is 22–35, and the lower end is more likely, because almost nobody's asset mix is all at the floor.
Now the part a careful reader spots, so we will say it first: we produce 15 videos a month for a single brand. That is below every figure in that table.
The comparison is not "can one person out-produce us" — it is "can one person match the per-asset economics while also carrying four other functions." Those are different questions, and only the second is answerable by arithmetic. If volume alone were the test, we would lose it.
Which exposes the real weakness in any cost-per-asset comparison, including this one. Dividing a salary by an asset price assigns 100% of the employee's cost to production, when the same person is also doing strategy, community management and analytics. If production is 60% of their week, the production-only breakeven falls to roughly 13 to 21 assets a month — and that is the number to argue about if the other four functions genuinely have value to you. They usually do.
For context on what any of these numbers mean in practice: Socialinsider's analysis of 70 million posts from international brands, January 2024 to December 2025, puts 2025 averages at 20 Instagram posts, 15 TikTok and 24 Facebook per month — 59 combined, above every figure in the table. Buffer's guidance recommends three to five Instagram posts and two to five TikToks weekly, which at the top end is about 43 a month.
Both benchmarks sit above our upper bar. Both count posts rather than distinct assets, and we do not have a source establishing how much cross-platform reuse that includes — so we cannot tell you how far above. Anyone converting posts to assets without that number, us included, is guessing. If you want the version of this question that is about cadence rather than cost, we wrote it up separately in how many videos a month a brand actually needs.
What do we actually charge per video and per shoot?
Two published floors, and one thing we do not publish.
RateTermsUGC videoFrom $350 per videoMinimum 5 per batch · usage rights typically 6 months · varies by creator type, scripting, turnaroundLive-action productionFrom $3,000 per shootPublished on our homepage, scoped to social media video production packages. /video-marketing states cost "varies based on the scope of work and deliverables" and publishes no priceRecurring monthly engagementNot publishedWe produce 15 videos a month for a single brand
Both published numbers are floors. We are not going to multiply one of them by fifteen and present the result as a monthly price — that would be inventing an offer we do not sell, which is the thing we criticised in the opening.
One correction we owe you about our own site. Our UGC page currently publishes two different production windows: the top of the page says content is "delivered as short as 7 days," and the FAQ further down says "the production timeline is 14 to 30 days." Both were live when we checked on 21 August 2026. Nothing in this article turns on UGC lead time, so neither figure is load-bearing here — but the page contradicts itself, we are fixing it, and you should confirm the lead time on your own order rather than trusting either number.
The third row is a real gap. Recurring monthly production is the core of how we work and we have not published what an engagement includes or costs. Until we do, the only fully honest comparison you can run from public information is floor-to-floor.
When should you hire a social media manager instead of an agency?
In-house wins whenever the work is not really content production. Several categories favour an employee permanently, and no agency should tell you otherwise.
Real-time judgment. Community management, DMs, sensitive customer issues — anything where the brand must answer as itself within minutes. No external team should hold that.
Executive and founder voice. Content that is genuinely one person's perspective needs that person, or someone sitting near them daily.
Pre-product-market-fit brands. If you are still testing product, messaging or audience, you need hourly iteration with someone in the room, not a production calendar.
High-volume, low-fidelity output. If the goal is presence rather than craft, an employee with a phone beats a production process on cost per unit.
There is also a case for doing neither yet. If social is not currently driving revenue you can attribute, a retainer of any size consumes the revenue it is meant to grow. Work out whether social is a growth channel for you before deciding who should run it. And if the reason you are reading this is that your current content is not working rather than that you need more of it, the diagnosis matters more than the org chart — we took one brand's declining engagement apart format by format before changing anything about who made the work.
What does nobody price, on either side? Ramp, rework and the cost of being wrong
Four costs decide more outcomes than the monthly figure does. Only one of them is genuinely unpriced across the nine comparisons we read, and we would rather say which than claim the field is blind.
Ramp time — named by several, priced by one. SHRM's 2025 benchmarks put median time-to-fill for a non-executive role at 44 days, which SHRM calls "about a month and a half" — and that clock stops at offer accepted, before notice periods, onboarding, or the first usable asset. Contentoo is the one source in our set that puts a number on what follows: "an average ramp time of 8 to 12 weeks, and you are looking at roughly $25,000 spent before any output." Ramp-adjusting pushes the in-house breakeven up, because you pay for months that produce nothing, which cuts in our favour — so treat our version of it sceptically and run your own.
Rework — unpriced by all nine, and by us. Cost per delivered asset is not cost per published asset. Revision rounds, off-brand output, footage that never ships. Not one of the nine applies this discount, it applies to both sides, and we do not have a clean number for it either. This is the genuine gap.
The cost of being wrong. Parting ways with a hire at month five writes off recruiting, ramp, salary and equipment. Cancelling a retainer at month three writes off three months. Several of the nine name turnover risk — Compelite puts "3-6 months disruption" in a table; SL Lives lists it first among "The Costs That Never Appear on an Invoice." Stackmatix goes furthest and deserves the credit: it sets a "30 to 60-day notice period" for an agency against "the 2 to 4 weeks of notice a typical in-house employee gives," and names severance, WARN Act implications and morale as what you avoid. But it puts a dollar figure on neither side. None of the nine prices both exposures against each other, which is the comparison that matters.
The fourth is seasonal rather than structural: the year has fixed dates that do not move for your hiring timeline. If your headcount req opens in September and the thing you actually need is a Q4 campaign, the calendar decides for you — we mapped the Black Friday production schedule week by week, and the last safe shoot date arrives well inside SHRM's median time-to-fill.
The honest summary: hire the person, or buy the output?
If you need someone in the room making judgment calls hourly, hire. If you need volume, cadence and craft, the arithmetic rarely favours a single hire — because the role bundles skills that rarely coexist in one person.
The number to argue about is not the salary. It is whether 22 to 35 usable assets a month — or 13 to 21, if you value the other four functions — is achievable in your business. Decide that and the rest follows.
Still deciding between an in-house hire and an agency?
If you want to pressure-test these numbers against your own brand, we will run the arithmetic with you — including the cases where it points at hiring.
Key takeaways
- An in-house social media manager in Los Angeles costs about $137,000 to $146,000 in year one, fully loaded, and about $129,000 to $138,000 in year two.
- The base salary behind that is $103,163, Robert Half's Los Angeles "Mid" tier, which is a starting-salary figure rather than a market median.
- BLS medians for the three nearest LA occupations run $79,860 to $83,210, below the figure the build anchors on.
- That hire has to sustain 22 to 35 usable assets a month to match what we charge per asset, or 13 to 21 if only the production share of their time is charged against production.
- Hiring takes a median of 44 days, from the requisition opening to the offer being accepted.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a social media manager cost in Los Angeles?
How much does a social media manager cost in Los Angeles?
About $137,000 to $146,000 in year one, fully loaded, for a hire expected to shoot. That is Robert Half's $103,163 LA "Mid" starting salary (2026) loaded by 1.225–1.284 for benefits and payroll tax (BLS, 2026 Q1), plus software, camera equipment and recruiting. Steady-state year two is about $129,000 to $138,000. Cross-checked against BLS LA metro wage data for the three nearest occupations, where medians run $79,860–$83,210 and 75th percentiles $105,980–$130,110 — public relations specialists, market research analysts, film and video editors.
Why 1.225–1.284 and not 1.46?
Because 1.46 double-counts paid leave. BLS reports $78.10 total compensation per hour worked against $53.50 in wages; dividing those gives 1.46. But BLS counts paid leave — $7.34 an hour — as a benefit, not wages, and divides by hours worked. A quoted annual salary already pays for vacation and holidays. The right denominator is wages plus paid leave, $60.84, giving 1.284, or 1.225 excluding supplemental pay. The difference is $18,000 to $24,300.
What does an agency cost by comparison?
Ours: UGC video from $350 each with a five-video minimum, live-action production from $3,000 per shoot, both published prices and both floors that vary with creator type, scripting and turnaround. We have not published a monthly retainer figure, so a floor-to-floor comparison is the only fully honest one available from public information.
What is the breakeven?
Between 22 and 35 usable assets per month depending on the average asset price — 33 to 35 in year one and 31 to 33 at steady state at our published $350 floor, 23 to 25 and 22 to 23 at a $500 blended average — $500 being our own estimate rather than a published rate. If you allocate only the production share of the salary to production, roughly 13 to 21. Our own output for a single brand is 15 videos a month, which sits below every figure in the 22-to-35 range and inside the 13-to-21 one.
When should we hire in-house instead?
Real-time community management, executive and founder voice, pre-product-market-fit iteration where you need hourly changes, or high-volume low-fidelity output where presence beats craft. An employee should hold anything the brand must answer as itself within minutes, and anything that is genuinely one person's perspective. There is also a case for doing neither yet: if social is not currently driving revenue you can attribute, a retainer of any size consumes the revenue it is meant to grow.
How long until an in-house hire produces anything?
SHRM's 2025 median time-to-fill for a non-executive role is 44 days, from the requisition opening to the offer being accepted, in calendar days. Notice periods, onboarding and the ramp to a first usable asset all come after that. Contentoo, one of the comparisons we read, puts ramp at 8 to 12 weeks beyond the hire, costing roughly $25,000 before any output.
Do these numbers go out of date?
Yes, and quickly. Salary guides update annually, BLS revises quarterly, the OEWS metro data lands about a year in arrears, and vendor prices change without notice. Every figure carries its source and our retrieval date, and where we could not re-verify one — the camera prices, some creative software — we say so rather than restating an old capture as current. Reviewed quarterly.
- https://apaya.com/blog/hire-social-media-manager-or-outsource
- https://buffer.com/resources/social-media-frequency-guide/
- https://data.bls.gov/timeseries/CMU2010000100000D
- https://data.bls.gov/timeseries/OEUM003108000000013116113
- https://data.bls.gov/timeseries/OEUM003108000000027303113
- https://data.bls.gov/timeseries/OEUM003108000000027403213
- https://dreamaspect.co
- https://dreamaspect.co/case-study/from-decline-to-scale-how-we-grew-balas-views-4-5x-to-15m
- https://dreamaspect.co/contact-us
- https://dreamaspect.co/ugc
- https://dreamaspect.co/video-marketing
- https://greenfroglabs.com/blog/short-form-video-agency-cost-vs-value
- https://istudiosmedia.com/in-house-vs-agency-production-cost-benefit/
- https://later.com/blog/in-house-vs-agency/
- https://rode.com/en-us/products/wireless-pro
- https://sllives.com/the-real-cost-of-social-media-management-in-2026-in-house-vs-agency-vs-ai/
- https://sproutsocial.com/pricing/
- https://web.archive.org/web/20260819060405/https://www.bls.gov/opub/hom/ncs/concepts.htm
- https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20230912338607/en/
- https://www.compelite.pro/compare/in-house-vs-agency/
- https://www.contentoo.com/blog/content-marketing-agency-vs-in-house-team
- https://www.hootsuite.com/plans
- https://www.ignitesocialmedia.com/client-agency-relationships/when-you-should-and-should-not-hire-a-social-media-magency/
- https://www.linkinbio.news/p/77-of-social-media-managers-are-burnt
- https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/nearly-half-of-social-media-professionals-experience-burnout-as-job-scope-expands-new-metricool-well-being-report-finds-302702381.html
- https://www.roberthalf.com/us/en/job-details/social-media-manager
- https://www.roberthalf.com/us/en/job-details/social-media-manager/los-angeles-ca
- https://www.shrm.org/content/dam/en/shrm/research/2025-recruiting-benchmarking-report.pdf
- https://www.socialinsider.io/social-media-benchmarks
- https://www.stackmatix.com/blog/social-media-agency-vs-in-house